Saturday , August 20 2022

NASA recently published schedule & # 39; detailed time for landing & # 39; Mars Insight on Thursday – BGR



[ad_1]

Monday 26 & # 39; in November, the newest piece of & # 39; space & # 39; space & # 39; advanced technology & # 39; NASA finally going to the surface & # 39; Mars. It Lander Insight, and you will hear & # 39; close to the heart of the planet and hopefully show a whole bunch of & # 39; Secret awesome & # 39; on Mars, but before doing so, need to actually, well, land.

NASA will be streaming live feeds from mission control, offering commentary and updates on the status of mission in & # 39; real-time. If you simply can not wait for the day following a large, NASA recently published schedule & # 39; time expect to reach specific points in the landing process, up to the minute, and it is quite interesting.

It all starts at 2: 40 p.m. EST, with separation & # 39; landing of the rocket stage push & # 39; towards Mars, and then the real fun begins. Here's a full breakdown, by Laboratory & # 39; Jet Propulsion of NASA:

  • 11:40 a.m. PST (2:40 p.m. EST) – Separation from the cruise stage that carried out the mission in & # 39; Mars
  • 11:41 a.m. PST (2:41 p.m. EST) – Turn to properly orient the spacecraft to atmospheric entry
  • 11:47 a.m. PST (2:47 p.m. EST) – Atmospheric Entry in & # 39; about 12,300 mph (19,800 kph), to start the entry phase, descent and landing
  • 11:49 a.m. PST (2:49 p.m. EST) – The maximum shielding heat warming reaches about 2,700 ° F (about 1500 ° C)
  • 15 seconds – Maximum deceleration, with intense heat causing possible temporary stays in & # 39; radio signals
  • 11:51 a.m. PST (2: 51 p.m. EST) – The parachute deployment
  • 15 seconds later – separation by heat shield
  • 10 seconds – the three legs Distribution & # 39; waste
  • 11:52 a.m. PST (2:52 p.m. EST) – Radar Activation will understand the distance to the ground
  • 11:53 a.m. PST (2:53 p.m. EST) – The first signal acquisition radar
  • 20 seconds later – separation from the bark of & # 39; and after the parachute
  • 0.5 seconds – The retrorockets, or machines & # 39; descent, start shooting
  • 2.5 seconds later – Starting & # 39; "turn of gravity" for the user enters the proper orientation for landing
  • 22 seconds later – Insight starts to decline to a constant speed (from 17 mph to a steady 5 mph or 27 kph at 8 km / h) for soft landing
  • 11:54 a.m. PST (2:54 p.m. EST) – expected Landing on the surface of & # 39; Mars
  • 12:01 p.m. PST (3: 01 p.m. EST) – "beep" from the X band radio & # 39; Insight directly back to Earth, and indicates that Insight is lively and work on the surface of & # 39; Mars
  • Not before 12:04 p.m. PST (3:04 p.m. EST), but possibly the day & # 39; after – First picture of Insight on the surface of & # 39; Mars
  • Not before 5:35 p.m. PST (8:35 p.m. EST) – Confirmation by using Insight & # 39; the orbitatur NASA Mars Odyssey of the solar arrays & # 39; Insight conducted

As you can see from the schedule, the whole process & # 39; landing will take several hours to complete, and there are many places where something can & # 39; goes awry. NASA has a remarkable record & # 39; Mars landing & # 39; success so we're not expecting any accidents, but mission control & # 39; JPL will be in his seat edge all the time.

[ad_2]
Source link